From Corfu’s Port we drive to Kanoni, to admire the famous Mouse Island & the Holy Virgin of Vlacherena. Afterwards, we continue to the beautiful town of Corfu & your first stop is at town’s Old Fortress. Built by the Venetians upon the remains of a Byzantine castle it was completed in two stages.
Corfu Town is now a member of the World Heritage List (UNESCO) . There will be free time for shopping after our guided tour in town, before returning to the pier.
We depart from Corfu’s Port for Kanoni, a beauty spot situated 4 kilometers south from Corfu Town center.
Here participants will stop to admire the lovely views and take pictures of the famous Mouse Island and the small islet with the nunnery of The Holy Virgin of Vlacherena.
Afterwards, we continue to the beautiful town of Corfu & your first stop is at town’s Old Fortress. Built by the Venetians upon the remains of a Byzantine castle it was completed in two stages. During the first period (1400-1500) the Venetians strengthened the Byzantine walls and dug the Contra Fossa moat, turning the promontory into an artificial island accessed by a movable bridge.
The second period (16th-18th centuries) began with the completion of this work (1546-1588) and ended with the additions and alterations made by the British. Today two impressive bastions remain, which bear the names of the Italian engineers Martinengo and Savorgnan, as well as later British buildings and accretions, such as the church of St. George, built in 1840 as a basilica with Doric columns.
Afterwards we continue to Corfu Town, which is now a member of the World Heritage List (UNESCO) for a walking tour in the historical center of the fascinating old city where the following historical sights can be seen:
The residence of the British High Commissioner, a splendid Edwardian building, completed in 1824, once the seat of the Knights of Saint Michael and Saint George untill 1864, and later the Palace of the King of Greece.
The bronze statue of the British High Commissioner, Sir Frederick Adam.
The Venetian quarters of Cambiello and Corfu’s Historical Center.
The Town Hall, once a Venetian theater, built in 1690.
The Church of Saint Spiridon, Patron Saint of Corfu with the rare icons and where the holy body of the Saint lies in a crypt.
There will be free time for shopping before returning to the pier.